WRITING

Naked and Unafraid

My winning entry in the Erma Bombeck Writing Competition.

Bev Potter
4 min readMar 2, 2024

--

It’s tough when you’re a humor writer going through a patch of something we call “life” and everything is the exact opposite of humorous.

One way I like to get my mojo back is to Tweet. (Yes, it’s still a Tweet. Shut up.)

That was nice.

But tweets don’t bring home the lattes, so I still have to apply butt to chair and think of something, anything, to write about.

Which led me to write the following essay for the Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop competition, which “won” “honorable” “mention” and came with a sum of money that will get me through almost a month at Starbucks (look, going to the ‘bucks is literally the only happiness I experience).

It will also get maybe five views on the U of Dayton’s blog.

So to put a lid on all the bummer stuff I’ve been writing lately, here is the absolutely last, for sure, hand to my heart, I swear, Dead Mom story.

Probably.

--

--

Bev Potter

Legal secretary by day, insomniac by night. Ally. BA, MA. Humor, pop culture, and things that make you think. My weekly-ish newsletter is bevpotter.substack.com