HUMOR

I Can’t Back Into A Parking Space, But By God, I Will Land This Plane

Bev Potter
2 min readAug 9, 2022
Photo by Sebastian Grochowicz on Unsplash

ME: “Uh, hello? Tower guys? Testing, testing. Get yer motor runnin’,
head out on the highway!”

TOWER: “Zebra Alpha Foxtrot 551, is there a problem?”

Problem seems like a very negative word. I really don’t need that kind of toxicity in my life right now. Let’s call it a situation.”

“551, you are rapidly losing altitude. Please correct.”

“I would love to do that. I would love to correct a hell of a lot of things. Like global warming. Like dogs without a home. Like how big my nose looks in selfies. But unfortunately, the pilot seems to have died and I have no idea how to fly a plane.”

“551, we’re going to instruct you on how to activate autopilot.”

“Oooo, cool. Will it inflate like in Airplane!?”

….. “No.”

“Bummer.”

“Do you see the button labeled ‘autopilot’? Press that.”

“Okey-dokey. Ah, we seem to have levelled out, good buddy. Come back?”

“It’s not a CB radio, 551.”

“10–4.”

“What was the pilot doing before he, uh, passed away?”

--

--

Bev Potter

Legal secretary by day, insomniac by night. Ally. BA, MA. Humor, pop culture, and things that make you think. My weekly-ish newsletter is bevpotter.substack.com