I Almost Ran Over My Neighbor’s Dog

And I showed remarkable restraint, REMARKABLE restraint when I sent her an email.

Bev Potter
4 min readNov 28, 2022
Photo by Marliese Streefland on Unsplash

I was coming home from my mom’s house around 8:00 p.m. and slowing down for the stop sign at my intersection, when something white loped through my headlights.

It was my neighbor’s dog.

Thank god I was slowing down for the sign.

After I hung the two quick rights into my driveway, I got out and walked across my lawn in the dark to where I could see the back of the neighbor’s house. The dog was waiting at the back door to be let in.

I heard laughter inside — the neighbors were definitely home, in case the six cars in the “driveway” weren’t enough of a clue.

Of course, I don’t know which of the rotating cast of vehicles work and which don’t, so it’s not really a certain indicator of how many people are actually in the house.

I was still pumped with adrenaline and fighting my normal urge to just walk the hell over there and start pounding on the door. Not that I’ve ever done something like that before ( I have totally done something like that before).

A phone call would also be a bad, bad idea.

--

--

Bev Potter

Legal secretary by day, insomniac by night. Ally. BA, MA. Humor, pop culture, and things that make you think. My weekly-ish newsletter is bevpotter.substack.com