HUMOR

How to Become a Morning Person

In one easy step that you’ll regret forever.

Bev Potter
3 min readMay 15, 2024

--

Photo by the author

If you ask a dog whether they want to go to the park, the answer is always, “Yes.”

If you, during a fit of temporary insanity, decide that you should go for a walk at the ungodly hour of 7:00 a.m. because you read somewhere that it will reset your cicadian rhythms and help you sleep, your dog it still voting, “Hell, yeah, let’s go!”

Congratulations! You are now a morning person.

Because unbeknownst to you, you have signed a fully binding contract with your dog that you will now take them on a walk at 7:00 in the morning for the rest of their lives.

This is called “dog law” and there are no appeals.

I don’t really mind the walks, or what I remember of them, anyway, because I’m dead asleep for at least half the time.

I remember driving to the park, and then there’s a blurry period of squinting into some hideous light in the sky that I’m told is the “sun”, and then I pass out a little bit.

And then somehow we’re back at the truck and my dog is happy, and at least one of us has pooped.

--

--

Bev Potter

Legal secretary by day, insomniac by night. Ally. BA, MA. Humor, pop culture, and things that make you think. My weekly-ish newsletter is bevpotter.substack.com