humor

Don’t Open the Emails From AARP

It’s either tech tips you should already know or advice on how to keep your job until you die.

Bev Potter
3 min read5 days ago

--

Photo by krakenimages on Unsplash

I don’t belong to AARP. I’m probably never going to belong to AARP because I don’t need discounts at Best Western or Shoney’s and I’m not taking my non-existent grandkids to Disneyland, or Disney World, or Disney Mars.

But the emails and snail mail and membership offers from AARP won’t go away, just like the person ahead of you in line who wants to pay by check, or who says, “Hold on, I’ve got exact change” and then spends five minutes looking for a penny at the bottom of their purse.

I open the emails because I’m morbidly amused by the advice they offer.

Things like “How to Use Your Voice to Control Your Smartphone”.

Look, if you have a smartphone, controlling it with your voice is the easiest part. You say, “Hey Siri!” and talk.

“You’ll know the bot is ready for your question or command when you see a swirling, colorful sphere near the bottom of your iPhone.”

Oh, man. AARP somehow got an entire blog post out of this topic — I wonder if they’re hiring.

--

--

Bev Potter

Legal secretary by day, insomniac by night. Ally. BA, MA. Humor, pop culture, and things that make you think. My weekly-ish newsletter is bevpotter.substack.com