Mental Health

Can Tylenol Treat Anxiety And Depression?

Maybe help is closer than you think.

Bev Potter
3 min readNov 11, 2021

--

Photo by lilartsy on Unsplash

My family doesn’t believe in therapy. We handle mental illness the old-fashioned way — by drinking.

My uncle Jimmy was the funniest person I ever met. He carried a little Igloo cooler full of beer with him everywhere he went. That cooler never left his side.

That’s how he handled the disappointments life handed him. The answer was always close at hand.

I don’t drink because I don’t want to end up carrying around my own Igloo cooler.

When I became anorexic in junior high school, my parents didn’t send me to a psychiatrist. They took me to restaurants. I survived, damaged but alive, thanks mostly to my weakness for pasta.

I tried going to a psychiatrist one time as an adult. I said, “I cry all the time.” He said, “You’re depressed,” and wrote me a prescription for Prozac.

That was the extent of our interaction.

I stopped taking the Prozac, but I didn’t stop suffering from anxiety and depression.

I’ve tried other antidepressants prescribed by my primary physician, but I’ve never met an adverse reaction I didn’t…

--

--

Bev Potter

Legal secretary by day, insomniac by night. Ally. BA, MA. Humor, pop culture, and things that make you think. My weekly-ish newsletter is bevpotter.substack.com