Humor

An Open Letter To The Person Who Runs The Bagel Cutting Machine At The Bagel Factory

You had one job.

Bev Potter
3 min readJun 21, 2021

--

Photo by Lauren Grogan on Unsplash

Dear Person Who Runs The Bagel Cutting Machine At The Bagel Factory:

I know it doesn’t mean much to you, but I've been looking forward to this bagel since 10:00 p.m. last night. You can only imagine the superhuman effort I dredged up from the depths of my very being to not just go ahead and eat it last night.

But that would’ve screwed up my intermittent fasting schedule which is 2:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. every other day and 9:00 p.m. to 3:00 a.m. on weekends unless it’s a leap year.

It’s not even a good bagel. It’s from Aldi’s, so it’s kind of gummy and has a slightly metallic flavor. I think it has blueberries, or at least it has blue spots all over it.

No matter. I planned on toasting this baby up and slathering it with my condiment of choice —or maybe even a fried egg! Sometimes I’m fancy that way.

All I needed was a bagel, of whatever dubious provenance, sliced in two basically similar halves. I’m really not picky. You could put cream cheese on a truck tire and I would eat it.

But no.

What we have here is an abomination. The bagel guillotine or however it is you…

--

--

Bev Potter

Legal secretary by day, insomniac by night. Ally. BA, MA. Humor, pop culture, and things that make you think. My weekly-ish newsletter is bevpotter.substack.com