Rant

An Open Letter To Our Idiot Clients

Bev Potter
3 min readJun 23, 2022
Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Dear Morons:

I know you think my boss is just sitting in the dark in his office like a robot on standby (don’t I wish) waiting for your call, but he’s not.

I know this is hard to believe, but he has other clients. Lots of other clients. And they all have court dates too.

So when you ask on Wednesday if he can go to mediation with you on Friday (btw, attorneys don’t normally go to mediation — you and your ex-wife are supposed to act like adults and work it the fuck out amongst yourselves) the answer is, “No, you fucking moron, he can’t. Do you call up your doctor and go, ‘Hey, doc, can you see me in two days at 3:00 p.m.?’”

You know what your doctor says? “Sure, I can see you at 2:00 p.m. on a Thursday four months from now.”

Or say you’ve had a case pending with your ex-baby mama for the last, oh, five months in a court that’s 90 minutes away and you have a hearing Monday at 9:00 a.m. and you woke up this morning and thought,

“Shit, maybe I should get an attorney.”

Of course my boss is going to tell you, “SURE, NO PROBLEM, I’LL BE THERE!” because he wants your money even though he has five hearings at the same time in a local court and he’s actually covering other hearings…

--

--

Bev Potter

Legal secretary by day, insomniac by night. Ally. BA, MA. Humor, pop culture, and things that make you think. My weekly-ish newsletter is bevpotter.substack.com